‘What do you want me to do? Dress in drag and do the hula?’

I can’t believe its Monday already and that I’ve only been gone for a week. At this rate I’ll be 30 next month…or something.

I arrived at Heathrow last Tuesday cursing my need to pack 4 bottles of perfume, 5 pairs of shoes, a winter wardrobe and a summer wardrobe as I wobbled my way from the airport to the train. I know London Rule 101 is don’t catch expensive taxi’s – but with the weight of three obese children on my back, my hands were tied.

I arrived at the hostel (YHA Central London) which for those interested, was more than adequate for £20 a night and hit the sack by 9pm, 3:00am body clock time.

A super early start the next morning I found myself walking down Oxford Street with a coffee in hand and the ‘world at my feet’.
Its hard not to get a little bit excited about the big red buses and black cabs against the back drop of Marble Arch and Hyde Park.

I ambled all the way down to Buckingham Palace, where I unexpectedly arrived in time for the Changing of the Guard only to have The Queen (of England, not Mercury) drive past me waving in her black Rolls Royce.
Awesome unplanned experience # 1- tick.

I spent most of last week walking around London learning how to use my new SLR camera (we’ll see) and taking in the sights.

Thursday night I headed to London’s O2 Stadium to watch my beloved Westlife boys in concert with Fi. Undoubtedly still one of the best live acts you’ll see. Honestly, get yourself to a gig. You know you want to. I left the concert swooning and with a renewed resolution for finding myself an attractive, singing Irishman.

Hotness

Friday night, Rosie and I hit up West End to catch the Lion King. Even the second time around, Timon & Pumba did not fail to entertain and incite childlike re-enactments of Can you feel the love tonight whilst walking home.

The Lion King

We spent Saturday at the gym and then hanging out on the Southbank near Waterloo with some of Rosie’s friends, a trip to the Tate Modern and a drink on the water. A spur of the moment decision as the sun (on this faux sunny afternoon) began to set led us up to the top of Greenwich Park where the view of London is breathtaking. Getting to hang out with Greenwich Meridian Line was also a little cool, which shoots out a green laser after sun set marking where it starts.

Some overwhelming market shopping at Camden yesterday and a friends gig at a small little punk band venue near Kings Cross Station all lead me here to Monday morning.

A little bit tired, but no less ready for my walking tour around Old Town London.

I’m off to Scotland tomorrow to freeze my t*ts off in 10-13C temperatures. Wish me luck.

Hakuna Matata

x


One response to “‘What do you want me to do? Dress in drag and do the hula?’

  • Lucy Cousins

    We miss you! I keep expecting to see you walk out of central baking depot in the morning with your coffee and 🙂 Glad you’re having a good time. Dont worry its freezing here too and probably wetter than Scotland. Lx

Leave a comment